the beyond cooking event: get 2x points on kitchen shop now

save up to 50% on winter clearance! shop now

only $60! 3pc reversible quilt sets shop now

you'll looove our valentine's day shop! shop now

Learning Resources® Botley™ the Coding Robot 77-Piece Activity Set

227 Reviews

Unavailable

This item is no longer for sale online

4.7

227 reviews ·227 ratings

72%

Would recommend

13 recommendations

5
77%
4
18%
3
3%
2
1%
1
1%

customer reviews

Showing 1 - 20 out of 227 reviews

Great buy!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 7 months ago

It's a nice robotic coding toy!

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Won't buy again

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 2 years ago

I used Botley in my class with 8yr old learners for team work and problem solving. They love it and so do I. The problem I have is that Botley does not turn 90 degrees. He turns at 87-88 which makes it difficult to complete a maze as he does not run in straight lines after turning.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Not as advertised

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 3 years ago

This toy is fun just be aware it states to accept 80 commands we couldn't get ours to accept more than 40 we tried multiple times. I tasked my child with a simple task of going around an object and then back around backwards. This would minimally take 36 steps they couldn't do it so I said let me see if I can. Since I thought it was a little more steps than the minimal I programmed it with 45 commands to take it safe and not run into the object. It kept saying it had reached the end or too many commands. I am guessing they have it with two memory modules 40 commands each and you can only hit the second register with a repeat command which isn't 80 commands that is still only 40 with an option to run it again. This should be stated as I was thinking 80 commands could lead to some challenges but 40 really limits the replayability.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

One wheel won't turn.

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

I ordered this set for my kindergarten class and after only a few uses one of the wheels will not turn. The wheel gets stuck on that one side and then Botley can't move. Fun while it lasted, but for the price it was very poor quality not to last longer than a few days. Very disappointed in this product.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Will not stop BEEPING!!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

Poor product. Poor unclear instructions on use and remote beeps whenever we try to play with it. We have to take the batteries out to get it to stop!!

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

I wish Botley existed when I was growing up

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

So, I bought this for my 2 year old daughter who is already showing an interest in "tinkering" with things. She watches me change batteries in her toys and takes my screwdrivers and imitates what I do. So, Botley struck me as a no brainer. When I took it out of the box, it was everything I expected it to be. The directions were clear and concise. I learned how to use it quickly and showed my daughter how to use the direction arrows and to transmit the program. At this point she is not sending Botley through any obstacle courses (obviously) but she does like to randomize the direction buttons she presses and then watch the results. I have no doubt this will serve me well for many years to come. Especially since I enjoy playing with it too haha

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Great for problem solving!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

My 6 year-old son enjoyed learning how to use this right away.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

My son loves Botley

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

My son loves this set! He is learning so much, so quickly about how to break down steps and logically plan out (code) Botley's actions. This was one of the most liked gifts I've ever given him.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

5 year old loved it

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 4 years ago

Purchased for my 5 year olds bday. He loved it and so did my almost 7 year old son. It does take some adult time to read the instructions so be prepared to spend some time teaching, but overall a nice learning toy.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Super sad with this purchase

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

My 4 year old got this toy as a birthday gift the other day and the person that gave it to is mantioned going online and getting more accessories for it. I noticed that because my son was gifted just the robot and just the challenge kit he was missing out on the 40 coding cards. To my surprise we can't get just the cards and after calling Customer Service we are left with returning the two boxes we already have to get the coding robot that includes the activity set. For the price it make perfect sense to do it this way. I Gave the product a low review and should not recommend because I'm now scared if he looses any of the parts we will be left with the same predicament of getting the entire thing instead of just the piece that we actually need.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Botley Does More

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

My students love the Code and Go Mouse, but this set does so much more. It is really new to them so they haven't had much time to work with it, but already they love it. If your students liked the Code and Go Mouse they will love this even more!

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Easy to use and fun for all ages

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

Wow! I'm amazed at the possibilities with this robot. I first overlooked purchasing this because it seemed too basic and I thought it would be more like a toy than an actual robot with coding and programming capabilities. I'm so glad I took a second look! Super easy to use and fun too. Perfect for younger kids but older ones will have a great time using this too. Love the simple and screen free programming capabilities.

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Great learning toy

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

Bought this for my 6 year old, we're really into STEM. I gave her a demo of how it works, and she took to it right away. There are lots of different challenges that you can set yourself so it's a toy that will provide hours of entertainment while learning and for years to come

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

My Boys LOVE Botley!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

I have four boys (ages 11, 7, 7, and 2). My three youngest are in love with Botley. He's so easy to use that my 2 year has even figured him out. My 7-year-olds love to take him places and show off all that he can do. I love that he's educational and offers my boys some STEM-related opportunities. I also love that there's so many levels to Botley. You can have him follow a line, pick things up, and even sense objects and do an action accordingly. So much fun!

photo
LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Fun for Kindergarten, but they still need some help with him

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

I bought this for my Transitional Kindergarten and Kindergarten students. He is still a little advanced for them to use on their own, but they enjoy when we use him together in class. They love the little sounds he makes!

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

This little guy rocks!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

If you're ready to get your kids interested in coding then Botley is a great way to start! My 8 year old is having a blast with this guy. The instructions are clear and he's super easy to program. We love the extra touches like his responses to different situations, 'uh oh', 'hi', 'I'm dizzy.' The two different modes, line following and code, are perfect for quick easy play or thought out programming. The instruction book gives you a few challenges and once my daughter went through she really took off with figuring out her own challenges for him.

photo
LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Such good lessons!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

This was our first time purchasing any kind of coding set for our 6 year old. He was so incredibly focused the entire time that we were building, which doesn't happen with ANYthing else. He loved every second and we have finally found something he is really into that also teaches really important skills for the future!

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

We love Botley!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

Botley was my children's first introduction to coding and they loved it! My older children are 5, 7, and 9. Botley has been great for all of them! Even my 3yo enjoyed watching and learning along with my other children. At first, I wasn't sure my 5yo would be able to understand some of the different activities you can do with Botley. He picked it up pretty quickly and it was so fun to see him problem solving and having fun. My children were challenging each other to different activities. It has been a great toy for my whole family! Botley would make a great gift!

photo
LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Perfect learning activity and FUN!

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

Botley is the perfect robot to introduce your kids to coding! All of my kids (and hubby!!) have loved playing with Botley! My older girls (8 and 7) have enjoyed coding and seeing the results. They have made obstacle courses and "taught" Botley how to maneuver them. My 4 year old enjoys trying as well! And my two littles have enjoyed watching all of the fun! I highly recomend Botley for a fun, screen-free learning toy!

LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Fun Introduction to Coding

Bed Bath and Beyond Customer . 5 years ago

Botley is a fun little coding robot that's great for the younger set. He's ready to go right out of the box, just add batteries. My kids had a blast learning how to use him and playing with him. They loved setting up obstacles for him and challenging each other. It engaged my kids ages 5-10. They have been asking to play with him daily. I like that it engages them and its not just another electronic.

photo
LogoOriginally posted on learningresources.com

Showing 1 - 20 out of 227 reviews